top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace

Room Tour - School Room

I have never had a room completely designated to school before. We have mostly schooled at the kitchen table in every home we’ve lived. I have enjoyed that very much, but I am loving having an actual school room more than I could have imagined! It is very nice to not have the distraction of the rest of the home around us while we are doing school.


As you probably know by now, I like to keep things simple, manageable, practical, functional, and welcoming. I really love how this room turned out and I love the simplicity and practicality of it. It serves our school needs perfectly. I had the folding table and chairs already (some of you probably remember them from our other house) and the bookshelf was left here in our rental by the previous renter. I had the world map but bought the U.S. map this year. These poster hangers are so simple and I love how they look. They are expensive but are about half the price of buying an actual frame to put the maps in. I got the Home Sweet Home (School) sign from Hobby Lobby on sale as well as the pencil organizer. The rug was $50 from Walmart. Everything else I already had.


As we go through the school year, one blank wall will become our science wall and one will hold our history timeline.


I would prefer solid white curtains over the closet in here but I already had these curtains from our home in West Virginia and decided to use what I already had instead of buying something else. Maybe I'll eventually change them but they work well for now.

The closet is not yet done but I hope to finish it over time. We have games and file boxes and some school supplies in here as well as wrapping paper, our printer, extra printer paper, coloring books and our personal books that aren't necessarily related to school. My husband's office stuff and camera and briefcase are also stored here. I hope to have more shelving over time and an actual file cabinet so that I can unpack some of these things and have them more easily accessible.


That's it! We all love it and so enjoy spending our mornings in here doing schoolwork. It was such an unexpected blessing with this move and new home that has felt like a sweet gift from the Lord to me.


We are schooling year round this year except for some breaks for vacation and company. We essentially took our "summer break" already in between moving and traveling in March. We finished up our school year May 11th and started our new school year May 17th. This year I have two in school. My daughter went into 4th grade and my son just started school this year (compulsory attendance age is 7 in MT.)


Our two sweet school kids on the first day of the new school year

We are on our second year of using Masterbooks for our school curriculum and we all really enjoy it. It seems to be a good fit for our family and season of life. It keeps it simple and yet covers all the basics they need to know.


I am no expert when it comes to homeschooling but I would be happy to answer any questions you may have that I didn't cover in this post. Also, I don't get paid for the links in this post, I just linked them because sometimes I like to know where people bought things from.


I hope you enjoyed seeing a glimpse into our school room and homeschool life!

196 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page