top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace

Reclaiming the Simplicity of Summer

I've recently been thinking about making memories during the summer and recapturing the simplicity of these days. Summer doesn't have to be busy and full to enjoy it and make wonderful memories. In fact, the relaxed, simple days are probably the ones we all enjoy most. I think sometimes we lose the wonder of summer in all the sports and camps and things to do and forget what makes it so magical to our kids. Things like picnics, water fights, pool or lake days, sitting around a fire pit in the evenings, going to the park, popsicles, lemonade and chocolate chip cookies after playing outside, ceiling fans to cool down rooms at night, and evening baths after a day full of sunshine and dirt.






Throughout the years I have lived on wildly varying incomes so I've had to focus on things we could do anywhere and on any income. I strive to find those simple ways to make everyday life special and enjoyable, and summer is no exception. I decided to compile a list of things that we do often during the warmer months to make special memories. I have also linked some items we have recently purchased for the children as extras to add to our summer enjoyment. I do not get any commission from these links and this isn't to sell anything, I just enjoy seeing where people get things that they use so I thought y'all might as well.


Parks! We live just a couple blocks from our town's little park and we have been enjoying walking there and playing. It's small and simple with just a few things to play on but the children love it!


Picnics! A simple dinner can be made extra special by eating it outside. The children and I love to take lunch outside to eat or pack a picnic to take somewhere can make it extra fun! We will often grill in the evenings and play games outside and relax. These things cost nothing to very little and they are great ways to spend time together!



Drinks! I love having special drinks to go along with our summer days, and since we mostly drink water, these are treats indeed! Pinterest has so many wonderful drink recipes for summer including iced coffee recipes and smoothies if you are looking for inspiration. We usually keep things simple with our favorites of mint tea or lemonade:


  1. I buy this tea and it is so good! This package has lasted us over a year. I keep it in the freezer for freshness and I almost need to order a new bag. I use 1/3 cup of leaves and 1 & 1/2 cups sugar and steep in hot water. Then I use my reusable coffee filter to strain it into two half gallon Mason jars and fill the rest of the way up with water. Refrigerate before drinking or pour over ice. What a refreshing drink we all enjoy!

  2. We love homemade lemonade! I use 3 large lemons and slice them and take the seeds out. Then I divide them into 2 half gallon jars. I add 1 cup of sugar to each jar (2 cups sugar total if you are making it in a 1 gallon container) and let it sit to draw out the juice of the lemons. After letting it sit for a bit, I stir it up and press the lemons to crush them a bit. Then I start adding water until the jars are full and continue to stir until the sugar is all dissolved. You can also add some strawberries or blueberries to it after it's made to flavor it differently.

These are both so simple and delicious and add an extra touch to our evening meals that make them so special.



Ice cream cones! Seriously, what screams summer like Ice cream?! I love keeping inexpensive ice cream cones in the house and some half gallons of ice cream (mint chocolate chip is my favorite!) Cones stretch your ice cream so much farther than eating it in a bowl and it adds an extra special touch. The children just love it and I do too! It feels like the luxury of going out for ice cream but in your own home.



Camping Trips! I know some people don't like camping but I personally think there is nothing quite as magical as a weekend camping trip! When my husband and I were first married, we had no money and no vacation time. We made our own "vacations" by taking as many short overnight camping trips to relax and fish as we could. When we began having children, camping became even more fun and magical! We love all the things about camping and you can literally make it fit whatever budget you have. If you are looking to do it really cheap, you can find free camping spots or cheap ones in state/national parks. If you have more to spend, you can camp in a campground with all the amenities. You can eat really simple, inexpensive food or go out to eat at restaurants. I love that it's a vacation you can enjoy regardless of your budget.


Water Fun! The children just used some of their chore money to get water guns , a slip and slide, and water balloons to cool off in the heat. They have had so much fun spraying each other and enjoying the water on these hot days and I love watching them make memories and enjoy these summer days of their childhood.



Outdoor Toys! I just bought the children a few items to play with outside and I can't wait for them to see them! We have lived in the country the last 4 years so living in town again has been a bit of an adjustment and they have less space to explore and play. This year we decided to get a few things for them to play with outdoors and I couldn't be more excited!

  • We got this swing to hang on one of the trees in our yard and I can't wait to see their faces when it comes.

  • I have wanted to get them a sand box for years but there was always more important places for that money to go and we had ample dirt for them to dig in so it wasn't a huge priority. Right now they dig and play with cars and animals in the flower bed in front of our house. It's not ideal and I'd really like to put flowers in there so I went ahead and got them this sand box. I think they will be so excited! My husband also got them some colored sand for some extra fun (I didn't even know that was a thing!) and I think they will be so surprised and thrilled when they get to see it.

  • Let's not forget the amazing wonder of bubbles! My children love bubbles and they are such great entertainment.


  • Sidewalk chalk is another great, inexpensive, creative outdoor activity. The children spend hours drawing roads and towns and pictures and playing with hot wheel cars and animals in their pretend farms and towns.





I think we tend to overlook these simple ways of having fun because they aren't super glamorous and they are, well, simple! Sometimes we forget that these are the things that the best memories are made of. As parents we feel the need to make these big, amazing memories with all these wonderful events and activities and we forget the wonder of the simple things that allow our kids to simply be kids and enjoy their summertime.


I hope that wherever you live and whatever your summer is looking like, you are taking the time to enjoy the simple, slow days of warmth and light. That you take the time to squeeze your children extra tight, relish their giggles, throw a few water balloons with them, kiss their cheeks while you wash sticky hands, make summertime treats, read books on the couch on hot afternoons, and that you take some time to see life through their eyes - with wonder, with joy, with hope for the future, with simple pleasures, and with laughter and togetherness.


134 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page