top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace

January Groceries

As most of you know, I only order groceries once a month. I order from Sam's club, Azure Standard, and Bountiful Baskets. Milk we get once a week from a local farm. Bountiful baskets is where all my fresh produce comes from and where I get bulk food for canning, Azure is where I get bulk dry goods and some household products, Sam's club is good for paper products and toiletries and condiments. I'd love to buy everything from Azure but that's not in the budget right now so I have to prioritize and compromise to make it all work out.


I placed my orders for the month, although Azure won't deliver until February 2nd. I'll get Bountiful Baskets this weekend and Sam's will deliver in a week or so. Other than milk, I'm done shopping for the month. Here are the breakdowns below of what I ordered and what it cost.


It is so lovely to have such a stocked pantry and freezer. You really start seeing the benefits of bulk buying a few months in where you can buy bigger quantities but fewer items. All the hard work of canning and preserving food and meat over the last 6 months is really starting to pay off. It takes awhile to get into a rhythm but I'm really happy with where things are at now. I feel like for me personally, it takes about a year to get fully into a good bulk rotation. We started completely over when we moved and I didn't really start in earnest until we moved to the farm so that's only given me about 6 months so far but I feel like we've made really great progress getting the pantry stocked while staying within budget.


I'll be making grape juice to can and possibly some grape jelly. The apples I'll make applesauce, apple pie filling, and I hope to make some apple cider and apple cider vinegar as well. We will see how it all goes! You never quite know how it's going to go until you get started.


I love seeing what things cost and detailed breakdowns so hopefully you do too!

272 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page