top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace

Happy Independence Day!

Years ago we found a little bitty town set in the middle of nowhere with breathtaking views and old west charm. It’s a tourist spot but it has enough history and western spirit to not feel like a tourist trap. It’s got just the right amount of things to do without all the glitz and glamour of typical vacation destinations.

We immediately fell in love with it. We toured the national park that sits right outside the town, we walked the charming streets, toured museums, ate ice cream, and looked at the quaint shops. It is set in the Badlands with Buffalo and wild horses and still has that Wild West feel. It quickly became one of our favorite spots to go and we camped as often as we could make the trip over.

Years ago we decided to make it our 4th of July spot and I loved the tradition we created. If you‘ve been around here for a bit, you know I like routine and constants and things that are always the same. I didn’t grow up with family traditions so it was very important and meant a lot to me to create those for my family. Then we moved away and this little spot became a very fond memory but no longer a place we could visit. Now that we are back In Montana, we are so excited to pick up our tradition again and this year is the first year in a long time that we were able to spend the 4th of July here again.

Theodore Roosevelt National Park is one of our favorite places and no matter how often we have been, I’m still astounded by the breathtaking beauty. It reminds me of why I love the West so much. It’s a feeling that can’t really be put into words, but I think Theodore Roosevelt said it best when he said, “It was here that the romance of my life began.” This park is in North Dakota, not Montana, but I relate to his words so much. It was in the west that I fell in love. That western spirit and grit, those wide open spaces and sunshine, the freedom and space to breathe that just clears your mind like nothing else. Somehow, no matter how hard life gets, all seems right with the world under that big sky.


I’ve tried to explain to other people what the west means to us but it’s very hard to put into words. I can’t exactly tell you what it is. It just is. It’s something that gets in your blood and sets your soul on fire. I think Roosevelt described it well when he labeled it a “romance” because that’s what it feels like. It doesn’t necessarily make sense to other people but it’s something you feel so strongly. I understand the pioneer heart and why so many men and women staked their lives on a bit of that western dream. They couldn’t explain it either, but I’m sure they felt it in their soul the same as I do.

Here are a few pictures we took today from the National Park: 👇🏻






The little town that sits right outside the park is called Medora and it is full of rich history. Both my husband and I love history so it’s fitting that we love this place so much. In the evenings they have an outdoor musical set in a gorgeous amphitheater. It is quite spendy to attend and we’ve only gone one other time before this trip, but it has been worth it both times. We took the children last night and they thoroughly enjoyed it!

The show covers the history of Medora, touches on Theodore Roosevelt’s time out here and in the military, has singing and dancing, and good, clean comedy. They always honor our country and those that have or are currently serving in our military. Last night they had horses bring in American flags and everyone stood for the national anthem. I don’t know about you, but that song always moves me to tears.

Here are some pictures of the show I hope you will enjoy: 👇🏻






This is such a patriotic place to spend the 4th and be reminded of the enormous price that has been paid for us to live in the country we do and enjoy the freedoms we have. I am forever grateful to call this beautiful country my home.

I hope that however you are celebrating our freedoms this weekend, that you also feel that inner freedom too. That you find that place that sets your soul on fire and makes you come alive, just like our forefathers did before us. I hope that each one of you will also find that place where you too can say, “It was here that the romance of my life began!” Happy 4th of July! I hope you have an incredible one! 🇺🇸 💥

115 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page