top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace

Creating a Comfy Home...



I strive to create a homey, comfortable place while having minimal stuff. It has been a journey of discovering the small things that make a huge impact on the atmosphere of a home. I have searched far and wide for those things that can be done anywhere, since I have been so nomadic for much of my life. I needed to know that I could make a home in the smallest, oldest apartment, an old trailer house with burnt orange carpet, dark paneling, yellow appliances and gilt mirrors on the walls, an old drafty farmhouse with buckling countertops and most of the kitchen storage in the bathroom, a little house in town or a huge house in the countryside.


I did not grow up knowing these things. I grew up in a bare, stripped down home. We had a table and stacking chairs but no other living area furniture. There was only one picture frame on the wall and it was a poem written by a dear friend and hung. We had beds and dressers in the rooms but no decorations. We did not have a comfy couch or rugs and blankets, candles or daily rituals to bring a sense of comfort. This is not to say that we did not grow up in a home rich with comfort and love, though. Quite the contrary. Our comfort and solace was in the people we shared space with and our family was very tight-knit. Our comfort was not in pretty tea cups or daily routines, but in the service of others, in a steady stream of guests we always had, mealtimes spent gathered around the table, conversations, and evening devotions.


Contrary to common ideas about what children need to thrive, thrive we did! We knew we were loved deeply, we had a strong sense of purpose and worth, and most of all, we were happy. However, as I grew up and started my own homemaking and motherhood journey, I have discovered things that are important to me and cause me to flourish. These include routines and familiar items that bring comfort and cheer to me. I have found a way to combine the simplicity of my upbringing with the things that bring joy and comfort to my heart.

Here are the best things I’ve found to easily make any place feel like home with minimal expense:


  1. Curtains. Simple curtains don’t have to be very expensive but they have a big impact on the homey-ness of a room. I like to buy mostly solid colors as it makes them more versatile and I think solids are more calming than loud patterns in most cases.

  2. Rugs. A simple area rug can be purchased for minimal cost ($30-$50) and really add to the comfort of a room. It makes hardwood floors so much more welcoming or can hide stains on carpet you can’t change. Rugs can literally transform a room.

  3. Candles or lamps. There is nothing quite so cozy or homey as the glow of a candle or the warm light of a lamp. I love turning on lamps in the evening and enjoying the added warmth they bring to a room. Candles are much cheaper initial investments and equally bring cheer to a room. I usually keep one main candle on the table or counter in the kitchen and then one in the main bathroom. I love lighting them and watching their flame flicker and dance and beautiful aroma fill the room. I usually buy the Hazelnut Creme at Walmart for $3.33 that have such an amazing smell.

  4. Throw pillows. These can be had for as cheap or as expensive as you want. Some simple $10 pillows add so much to a room. Again, I like to stick to neutral colors and simple patterns to make the room as cohesive as possible. Especially if you are renting and can’t repaint or change things, neutral colors keep things from clashing. Also, if you have a small space, too many patterns can make it too loud and busy instead of calm and cozy.

  5. Plants. Real or faux, plants add so much to a space. Small greenery plants or ivy can be found at Walmart or your local greenhouse for very inexpensive. I’m no “plant person” and I have had very little success with keeping plants alive but succulents or ivy tend to do really well for me. A couple plants spaced through a home can add so much to it for very little. I believe there is something so beautiful in caring for plants, even if I’m not the best at it.

Other things I do to make a place feel like home are:


  1. Bake something. Cookies, bread, or other yummy things to have for my family or share with neighbors and friends. Nothing says “home” like fresh baked goods.

  2. Open the curtains/blinds. Sunshine streaming into a room is so cozy. It brightens a room and brightens everyone’s mood. Opening the curtains are one of the first things I do every morning and I love this simple ritual. If privacy is a concern with open your curtains, I have found sheers to be a good solution. It lets the sunshine in but keeps neighbors from looking right in your windows.

  3. Clean. Nothing makes a new place feel like your own than cleaning it. Also, having a clean space that you maintain and keep up makes it more appealing. No matter what type of home you live in, how old or current it is, any place can be welcoming and inviting to your heart and others if it’s clean and cared for.

  4. Decorate. I love hanging a few simple, familiar decorations that have been with us for years and always make a place feel more like home. Hanging pictures on the wall that I made or were a gift from someone else makes my heart instantly more at ease. Pulling out picture frames of familiar faces, or decor items we bought at a special place make me remember loved ones and precious memories that will be with me anywhere.

As always, keep it simple. In making a house a home, little goes a long ways. The love, the heart, and the effort you put into your home are the things that truly make it a home. A few items, some cleaning, and a whole lot of love are all you need to make a welcoming, peaceful home for your family. Keep it simple. Keep it cozy. Keep it doable. Happy Homemaking!





158 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page