top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace

A Little Bit of This and That


Oh, joy of joys! There has been so much happening here that life has felt like a whirl of gaiety and good things. My heart is running over with the many blessings in our lives.


This last week we took the week off of school for Thanksgiving. The children enjoyed having more free time and we baked and canned and caught up on some things that needed done. We enjoyed playing games and we worked up the deer my husband shot. I caught up on phone calls with friends and family from far away places that are hard to fit into normal days because of schedule and time differences. My daughter finished her first quilt topper, a simple nine patch design from fabric we received from my grandmother when she passed. We hope to finish the rest of the quilt this week. She is elated! I can't wait to see the finished product and her bed all made up in something she created herself.


Last weekend we went into town to run some errands as a family and stopped by a meat trailer that was selling bulk meat that day. We had been trying to get bulk meat for the freezer this year since we only got one deer but we hadn't had much success finding any. Meat at the local store is very expensive. We were thrilled to come across this option and happy to support a small family business and get meat at good prices! Coming home from town, my husband and I spent the evening rearranging and inventorying our freezer contents. Taking stock of the food we have put away for the long, cold winter ahead makes me so thankful! I don't think I've ever felt so rich in my life than when surveying that store of meat! I remember many years we've had very, very little meat to eat and where keeping the cupboard shelves well stocked was an ongoing struggle as I had very little money to make many bulk purchases. We have never gone hungry and always had enough, which is reason to be thankful in and of itself - many people can't say the same, but knowing that we have such abundant stores of good things in the house just makes me feel so wonderful.


We spent Thanksgiving with church friends and had a wonderful afternoon with good food and good fellowship. It was very lovely and I am, once again, so thankful for such wonderful friends here. I wish everyone could experience the joy that comes from friendships such as these. If you have the gifts of a family and good friends, you are truly rich indeed! The next morning saw us on the road in the early morning heading to Billings for the last of our winter shopping. We don't do Black Friday shopping but since my husband had a 4 day weekend and Billings is so far away, it worked better to go this weekend. The crowds weren't bad by the time we got there in the early afternoon and the places we were going weren't really the hot shopping spots. We had a productive time of shopping and we were able to get the last of what we needed for winter. We got the last of our winter gear, a few odds and ends of household things, a few things for Christmas boxes, and some bulk goods from Sam's.


We came home Saturday night very thankful for a productive town trip but very glad to be home. There just is no place like home! This weekend was also my break from bringing any food to church for the noon meal so that was nice that I didn't have to get up early to prepare food after our trip. Church was good, as usual. I just so enjoy the fellowship and coming together to learn more about God and how the week just seems to go so much better when we have that time set aside to worship and refocus our hearts. In the afternoon we went to get our Christmas tree. The children were so anxious to decorate for Christmas and I have to say that I was ready to decorate as well. I love to see their thrill over the simple joys of this season. This is the first year that we have decorated outside as well. Usually we just do a tree and maybe a wreath on the door. This year we bought white lights and wrapped our porch railings and around our big front windows on our house. It looks so splendid and we were all so happy last night when we stood in front of our house and looked at our work. The children oohed and aahed and my husband and I grinned at each other like two kids. We have always enjoyed driving around and looking at other people's Christmas lights and it felt nice to finally be contributing to other's enjoyment of Christmas lights as well. So, our tree is up and lights are on and we are ready for the coming holidays!


This week we are back to school and all our regular duties. I will be rearranging our pantry and unpacking our bulk supplies today that we purchased at Sam's in Billings over the weekend. I hope to finish canning pumpkin and I'm planning on canning some soup and pizza in a can to have on hand for easy dinners as well. It will be a full week ahead but what a privilege to get to attend to the needs of my household and to care for those who dwell here! I am convinced that there is no better life than a simple life where people are the most important and home flourishes with the work of our hands.


I hope you have a great week ahead and that your winter preparations are profitable and full of thanksgiving. We are immeasurably blessed!


Grace

162 views8 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page